Exhibition House about the Reclamation of Odense Fjord

Exhibition House about the Reclamation of Odense Fjord

Trøjborggyden / Bogøvej

5450 Otterup

Photo: Nordfyns Kommune

The exhibition house for Fjordmarken and Odense Fjord

In the year 1818, landowner Elias J. Møller from the Østrupgaard manor began damming the Egense Fjord. Work on the dams followed the Dutch model, using day labourers with buckets and shovels. Two dams were built out to the little island of Bogø, and water was kept out through the use of high water sluices. Posts, wattles, soil and stone were used to build the dams. 

The land behind the dams was not entirely dried out, but could be used for grazing and growing hay. In total, the recovered land was equivalent to 85 football fields, but it was unprofitable when compared with the immense investments that had been put into the damming efforts. At the deepest section of the area, a large lake formed. During the damming work, 3 islands became landlocked, and the first inhabitants settled down in the area. At the time, the damming efforts were the largest in Denmark, and Crown Prince and Governor of Fyn, Crown Prince Christian, visited the site 3 times to keep up with the work. Two monuments were raised on two different hills (these are just outside the exhibition building). One tells of the Crown Prince's visit, the other of Elias J. Møller's business, for which he received the Danish Agricultural Society’s gold medal.

The Dutch Windmill 

More than 50 years would pass, before a successor and namesake of Elias Møller would begin to improve the dam projects. New technology helped him out. Now, deep drainage canals were dug, in addition to a networked system of trenches. In 1873, a large Dutch windmill was erected behind the dams. It featured an Archimedes Snail that tossed the water into the ocean. This mill could pump away 1800 litres of water per minute.  The land became very dry, and in the periphery, grains and other crops could now be grown. However, grazing and hay growing continued to be of great importance. One area remained wet, however.  A mill watchman was assigned to the mill, and many more inhabitants later came to populate the area. Slowly, the profits Elias J. Møller had hoped for began to trickle in.

The society of Fjordmarken 

In 1913, Holger Møller, who now owned the land, wanted to sell the dam. The local population was worried that the area would end up in the hands of a consortium, and it was for this reason that they contacted the “Land development association”, a national organisation that would purchase land to divide it among smaller farmers. These days, the Danish government works to divide land to smallholders and day labourers.

The dam was purchased, I/S “Fjordmarken” (the Fjord field) was established and distributed 178 plots of land. The partnership firm had a board of 9 members. Some plots were sold to existing farms, while others were sold to new ones. An entirely new little society sprouted up in the area, and properties were built that could feed a whole family. 

The capacity of the mill was improved several times, most recently after World War 2, when they installed a diesel engine to operate the pump facility. I/S Fjordmarken later wanted the entire dammed area to be reclaimed, and as technology now allowed this to be possible, an all-new pump station was built in cooperation with Hedeselskabet in 1965.

Oyster shells and nature restoration 

In the 1930s, a vast trove of oyster shells was discovered behind the dam, and these shells began to be harvested. The shells were in part used to produce porcelain and earthenware, even being sent to England, and as a supplement to chicken feed. This became a profitable business for Fjordmarken I/S, and the places where the shells were found became deep pits.

In the final decades of the 1900s, views changed regarding drainage and damming, and in 1996, Fyn County purchased 62.2 hectares of “Fjordmarken”. The pump capacity was reduced, so that water returned to the deep areas, forming new lakes in the old shell pits. Around this time, the reed beds and fens grew back, supporting rich bird life. You can find oyster shells behind the new pump station. 

The Møller Family

Elias J. Møller was born in 1761 in Diernæs at South Funen. He was the son of a poor smallholder, and nothing suggested he would be a landowner. But Elias had other plans. He became a servant at the Holstenshus manor, where he followed the young landowner's son on his travels and to educational institutions, both in Denmark and overseas. Elias had a good head on his shoulders, and taught himself both foreign languages and economical skills. A few years later, he was managing Østrupgaard and later Vejlegård, another manor on Funen. In 1795, he returned to Østrupgaard, and in 1797, he married the widow of its former owner, Anna Elisabeth Ramus, making him the landowner. But Elias Jørgensen Møller didn't rest on his laurels, instead becoming one of Østrupgaard's most dynamic owners. He expanded the property to include the nearby estate of Ørritslevgaard, where his brother became a tenant.

His family held Østrupgaard until 1924.  One of the more notable figures was Holger Møller, the owner from 1895-1917. Holger Møller got a scientific education, which he used to improve the plant harvest at his estate. Aside from that, he was also a conservatory-educated violinist, and he would hold concerts every year at Østrupgaard, inviting figures such as the young Funish resident Carl Nielsen, who would later go on to be a world-famous composer.

Opening hours

1 April-30 September: Open every day from 8:00-22:00.  

The exhibition house here is a former chicken coop. The plaques are made by local residents and Odense By Museums, and the project is supported by the municipality of North Funen.

Hotels nearby of Exhibition House about the Reclamation of Odense Fjord

  • Munkebo Kro

    9.12 km

    Experience the cozy atmosphere at Munkebo Kro, located right by the water with a view over Kertinge Nor. Here, you can enjoy well-prepared dishes and explore the harbor town of Kerteminde and the capital of Funen, Odense.

    Read more : Munkebo Kro
  • Tornøes Hotel

    14.5 km

    Kerteminde, on the island of Funen, is the quintessence of rural idyll, featuring fishermen’s cottages and fine merchants’ farms. In the heart of Kerteminde, you will find Tornøes Hotel. The hotel is full of atmosphere, charm and good cheer, with lovely rooms, excellent food and a magnificent view.
    Read more : Tornøes Hotel
  • Hotel Knudsens Gaard

    16.38 km

    Hotel Knudsens Gaard in Odense emphasizes personal service, high quality and a peaceful atmosphere. The uncontested attention is on the guests, who must be able to enjoy a relaxed stay in green surroundings. The hotel rooms have a homely feel and the restaurant delivers fantastic culinary experiences.

    Read more : Hotel Knudsens Gaard
  • Frederik VI's Hotel

    17.45 km

    Since 1882 guests have enjoyed being pampered at Frederik VI's Hotel. Set amongst the beautiful Funen countryside in it’s own park with a system of forest paths and jogging trails right outside the door and only 10 km from Odense City centre, the hotel boasts tastefully furnished rooms and a highly regarded restaurant.
    Read more : Frederik VI's Hotel
  • Fjelsted Skov Hotel & Konference

    31.61 km

    Welcome to Fjelsted Skov Hotel and Conference - a unique refuge in the midst of nature. We offer an exclusive experience where tranquility and charm blend with modern comfort surrounded by the breathtaking Fjelsted Skov. The ideal place for both business travelers and holiday guests.

    Read more : Fjelsted Skov Hotel & Konference
  • Brobyværk Kro

    35.12 km

    Brobyværk Kro is situated where the road between Odense and Faaborg crosses the stream Odense Aa. The idyllic inn with the river in the backyard has traditions for receiving guests. Naturally it has been modernised, but the spirit and the cosiness still preserve here, and the cuisine has a good reputation.

    Read more : Brobyværk Kro
  • Hotel Fredericia - SDH Partner Hotel

    47.18 km

    Experience culinary magic at the restaurant Ryes, and combine your stay with the beautiful nature together with a lot of cultural experiences and activities when you stay at Hotel Fredericia.
    Read more : Hotel Fredericia - SDH Partner Hotel
  • Hotel Vejlefjord

    48.05 km

    Due to the beautiful location near the fjord and in the beech forest, Hotel Vejlefjord is often referred to as “The castle in the forest ". The hotel spa and wellness facilities and the thermal baths are unique and compares favorably with the best in Northern Europe. Enjoy the 20 km forest tracks.

    Read more : Hotel Vejlefjord
  • Hotel Faaborg Fjord Spa Konference

    50.17 km

    If you wish for a weekend away or a mini break from daily stresses, then a stay at Hotel Faaborg Fjord is good for the soul. Here you find fresh air, light, life and play for young and the young at heart.

    Read more : Hotel Faaborg Fjord Spa Konference
  • Jørgensens Hotel

    54.37 km

    When you visit Jørgensens Hotel, look forward to an experience of historical awareness, quality in every detail and personal hospitality in the center of Horsens.
    Read more : Jørgensens Hotel