The seamark in Årgab

Take a walk in the past

Sea marks along the west coast of Jutland.

The seamarks along the North Sea are tall, sculptural, three-legged wooden structures that date from 1884-85 and are part of a unified system of beacons that the then Coast and Dune System erected to improve maritime safety.

Of the original 23 seamarks, the remaining 11 seamarks were in Gl. Skagen, Løkken, Vigsø, Thorup, Stenbjerg, Vedersø Klit, Husby Klit, Årgab, Havrvig, Kærgård and Ringebjerge protected by the Danish Forest and Nature Agency in 1997.

The nautical marks are up to 12 meters high and the "heads" can be a circle, a triangle, a square or another easily recognizable figure, all of which were drawn as signatures on the charts, so that the navigators could determine the exact positions of the ships.

The seamarks have no longer any maritime function, but are considered together with the rescue stations to be important cultural-historical and architectural features of the West Jutland coastal landscape.

The name "båke" is derived from the German "Baken" or "Bavn", which in the Middle Ages was the term for a stack of firewood, ignited as a signal fire in a high-lying place.

Årgab Båke. 

Holmslands Klit, at Karen Brands Bjerge.

1½ km south of Hvide Sande.

Pos. 55°59´22,62´´N 8°7´54,8´E

Height 12 meters

Erected in 1884

Protected since 1997

In 2012 this båke was renewed and re-established with a more solid foundation in the dunes.

Opdateret af:

  • The seamark in Årgab
  • Søndergade 114
    6960 Hvide Sande
  • Phone. (+45)